What are mario and luigi's last name?

In a 2012 interview with Game Informer, Mario creator Shigeru Miyamoto confirmed a total lack of surname for the pair: “Just like Mickey Mouse doesn't really have a last name, Mario is really just Mario and Luigi is really just Luigi.”