What is the retirement age in the u. s. a.?

Retirement can happen at any age you choose. If you are looking for Social Security benefits, the earliest is age 62. However, waiting until full retirement age (age 66 or 67 depending on your birthdate) will pay you more each month. At age 70, you max out.