Why is it called a number two pencil?

A pencil's location on the HB graphite grading scale depends on the hardness of its graphite core. The hardness of the core is often marked on the pencil — look for a number (such as “2” or “3”) — and the higher the number, the harder the writing core and the lighter the mark left on the paper.