What happens when you add vinegar to baking soda?

When vinegar and baking soda are first mixed together, hydrogen in the vinegar react with the sodium and bicarbonate in the baking soda. The result of this initial reaction is two new chemicals: carbonic acid and sodium acetate. .This creates the bubbles and foam you see.