When is the pineapple ready to eat?

The exterior of a pineapple changes from a green-gray to yellow as it ripens, so as a general rule, the more yellow a pineapple's exterior is, the riper the fruit will be. You want a pineapple that is consistently golden-yellow from top to bottom.