What's a brick of brack?

It came a French phrase dating to the 1500s that means at random or a little here and a little there.

---

"Bric-a-brac" in English means items of little value, perhaps souvenirs displayed in a home. It comes from the French "bricq a bracq" -- meaning "randomly" -- but the origin of those French words is unknown. Used in sentence: "Their main room had a shelf of bric-a-brac collected on travels abroad."