How do you keep strawberries from spoiling?

There are a few things you can do to slow strawberry spoilage: Purchase firm, clean, unbruised and dry berries. The fresher, the better. Keep them refrigerated, 40°F or below. Do not wash them until you are ready to use them. Handle them gently to prevent bruises and crushed berries.