What is the play king lear about?

The tragedy King Lear by William Shakespeare is about a king who gives his wealth to two daughters who flatter him and nothing to the third. He goes mad when he finds out that they used him, and reconciles with his third daughter. The noble families scheme and fight throughout and it ends in death.

---

King Lear is a tragedy by William Shakespeare. The play's action centers on an aging king who decides to divvy up his kingdom between his three daughters (Goneril, Regan, and Cordelia) in order to avoid any conflict after his death.