What's the difference between a steer and a bull?

Bulls are male bovines that are capable of mating and reproduction as their testicles have not been removed. A steer, still a male bovine, is a bull that has been castrated. Bovine castration is done most commonly long before sexual maturity when the bull is a young calf.