What does kneading bread do?

Kneading is a process used to mix ingredients and add strength to the dough. Its importance lies in the mixing of flour with water. When these two ingredients are combined and kneaded, the gliadin and glutenin proteins in the flour expand and form strands of gluten, which gives bread its texture.