What is the plessy decision?

Plessy versus Ferguson was a landmark 1896 U.S. Supreme Court decision that upheld the constitutionality of racial segregation under the “separate but equal” doctrine. The case came from an 1892 incident in which African American train passenger Homer Plessy refused to sit in the proper car.