What was the eighties best picture winner set in china?

The Last Emperor, is a 1987 epic biographical film about the life of Puyi, the last Emperor of China, from his ascent to the throne as a boy to his imprisonment and political rehabilitation by the Communist Party of China. It won 9 Academy Awards, including Best Picture and Best Director.