Why is golf called golf?

The game Golf dates back to the 17 hundreds and has had many different spellings and pronunciations. The original game Kolf with a K or C was a medieval stick and ball game. Kolf meant; to strike. The spelling later changed to Golf with a G. An acronym for; Gentlemen Only Ladies Forbidden.