When did the united states start using daylight savings time?

Daylight savings time was established by the Standard Time Act of 1918. The Act was intended to save electricity for 7 months of the year during World War I. In 1966, the Uniform Time Act was created and subsequently updated in 2007 to last from the 2nd Sunday of March to the 1st Sunday of November