Are daddy longlegs spiders?

Daddy longlegs are arachnids and have eight legs. But instead of falling into the order Araneae, these critters are Opiliones — derived from the Latin “opilio,” meaning “shepherd.” Daddy longlegs are not spiders and are called Harvestmen because they appear in the Fall