Why are cheerios called cheerios?

Cheerios were invented by developing a puffing gun machine that puffed oats into a small "o" shape. Quaker Oats, however, claimed that the "oats" in the name Cheerioats was a trademark infringement, so General Mills changed the name to Cheerios in 1945.