What's the difference between squash and zucchini?

Zucchini is generally deep green — though it can be golden yellow — while yellow squash is, well, bright yellow. Shape is another indicator. Zucchini is mainly straight, while yellow squash sports a bulbous bottom, which tapers as it gets toward the top.