Why did the beatles call themselves the beatles?

They liked Buddy Holly's rock & roll band The Crickets, so they named their own band after another rodent, the beetle. During the first months of 1960 they were known as The Beatals but tried other names Johnny and the Moondogs, Long John and the Beetles. But they stuck with The Silver Beatles.