Why is pluto no longer a classified as a planet?

Pluto is no longer classified as a planet because it is much smaller than it was believed to have been when it was first discovered. Pluto was the first body in the Kuiper Belt to be discovered. If Pluto were to remain classified as a planet, then many other bodies in the Kuiper Belt would be too.