Why do people yawn when they see someone else yawn?

Because when a person see's a physical action of a relatable comforting feeling, it causes a similar reaction in others.

---

According to researchers, empathy is the most likely reason. "As humans age, we enhance our psychosocial and neurological development, taking other individuals yawning as a cue that we should yawn as well,"