Why are chopsticks called chopsticks?

The English word "chopstick" seems to come from Chinese Pidgin English, a pidgin where "chop chop" meant quickly. In Japanese, chopsticks are called hashi. They are also known as otemoto. This is what is usually printed on disposable chopsticks.