Is cumin a coriander?

No, cumin is a different plant than coriander. Ground cumin as a spice is the ground seed that comes from the plant Cuminum cyminum. Coriander comes from the plant Coriandrum sativum. Both plants do belong to the Family Apiaceae, so they are related, but different.