Why do dogs spin around before they lay down?

Wild dogs had to pat down tall grass and underbrush to make a comfortable bed for themselves and their pups. When domesticated dogs spin in a circle before bed, it's just a leftover instinctual behavior from their wild ancestors.

---

Dogs circle to release their scent to serve as an aromatic alert to other dogs. It serves as a signal that this bed belongs this dog and this dog alone.