What happened to the turtles?

In reference to the band: The Turtles wound down their career in 1970 with a second compilation album, More Golden Hits, and a B-sides and rarities album, Wooden Head. For the animals, they are very much alive but the Save the Turtles movement protects sea turtles from water pollution.