What does tong mean?

A tong is a spring loaded kitchen utensil made of 2 long bars connected at one end with a hinge that is used for turning and stirring foods. Typical use cases involve grilling, baking, salad tossing, and flipping hot items in an air fryer midway through cooking for even crisping.