When did france stop using the guillotine?

It last used it for an execution in 1977, and France formally abolished the death penalty in 1981.

---

The guillotine remained France's standard method of judicial execution until the abolition of capital punishment in 1981. The last person to be executed in France was was guillotined on September 10, 1977.