Who was the first president impeached?

Andrew Johnson

---

The impeachment of President Andrew Johnson was the result of political conflict & the rupture of ideologies in the aftermath of the Civil War. The Tenure of Office Act, passed over Johnson's veto in 1867, stated that a president could not dismiss appointed officials without the consent of Congress.