What's the difference between a guinea pig and a hamster?

Guinea pigs are bigger and heavier than hamsters, roughly 2-4 times bigger and can weigh around 1.5 to 2.6 lbs whereas hamsters only weigh around 1 to 10 oz. Guinea pigs will require a much bigger habitat with more room to play, and more food than hamsters (which leads to more cleaning up to do).