What was the first cereal ever?

Hot cereal's prehistoric. The first cold cereal, corn flakes, was invented by William Kellog for patients of his brother John at a sanitarium. His brother John sweetened it and began selling it to the public. C. W. Post was a previous patient who started a rival company.