Who is john baptiste lamarck?

Jean-Baptiste Lamarck, in full Jean-Baptiste-Pierre-Antoine de Monet, chevalier de Lamarck, (born August 1, 1744, Bazentin-le-Petit, Picardy, France—died December 18, 1829, Paris), pioneering French biologist who is best known for his idea that acquired characters are inheritable