Are coral animals?

Corals are animals. And unlike plants, corals do not make their own food. Corals are in fact animals. The branch or mound that we often call “a coral” is actually made up of thousands of tiny animals called polyps.

---

The coral we see is actually the skeletons of the coral polyps which, are, animals.