What is b. y. university stand for?

Brigham Young University is a private research university in Provo UT. It was founded in 1875 by religious leader and colonizer Brigham Young and is sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. There is also another same-named school in Rexburg ID, also affiliated with The Church.