How do you set up a chess game?

Move the board so a white square is in the lower right for each player. Fill the second row from the bottom with pawns. For the bottom row, place rooks in the corners, knights next to rooks. Bishops next to knights. The queen goes on the open square of the piece's color. King in the last square

---

On the row closest to the White player, from left to right the pieces are set as: Castle, knight, bishop, queen, king, bishop, knight and castle. The next row has all 8 pawns. The Black player's pieces are a mirror-image of those positions so that opposing kings and queens are aligned.