How did m. and m.'s get their name?

The two 'M's represent the names of Forrest E. Mars Sr., and William F. R. Murrie. Mars - the son of Frank C. Mars (the founder of the Mars company) founded M&M Ltd while Murrie (the son of the president of Hershey Chocolate) had a 20 percent share in the product.

---

During the Spanish Civil War, Forrest Mars Sr. saw soldiers eating hard-shelled chocolates, inspiring the mass production of M&M's about a decade later in a Newark factory. The candy was named after the surnames of the company's founders: Forrest Mars and William Murrie.