How did m. and m.'s get their name?

The two 'M's represent the names of Forrest E. Mars Sr., and William F. R. Murrie. Mars - the son of Frank C. Mars (the founder of the Mars company) founded M&M Ltd while Murrie (the son of the president of Hershey Chocolate) had a 20 percent share in the product.