What are the killer hornets?

"Murder hornet" is a misleading nickname for the world's largest species of hornet, the Asian giant hornet. As the name suggests, they originate in Asia. Contrary to their nickname, these hornets aren't known to attack people. The only "murders" they're likely to commit are those of the honeybees.