What's the difference between a macaron and a macaroon?

Aside from being delicious and similar in spelling, macarons and macaroons are entirely different cookies. First off, a macaroon is coconut based, whereas a macaron is meringue based. Macarons range in color and flavors and macaroons are limited in variety. Macarons are not as sweet as macaroons.