What caliber is a three oh eight?

The . 308 Winchester is a rimless, bottlenecked, rifle cartridge and is the commercial cartridge from which the 7.62×51mm NATO round was derived. The . 308 Winchester was introduced in 1952, two years prior to the NATO adoption of the 7.62×51mm NATO T65.