Who is ali baba and the forty thieves?

Ali Baba is a poor woodcutter who secretly watches as 40 thieves hide their booty in a cave, the door to which can be opened only by verbal command of “Open, Sesame!” He later uses this, steals riches from the cave, and lives a prosperous life.