Where does the name maddix come from?

The name Maddox is derived from a Welsh surname meaning "son of Madoc." Madoc or Madog was a legendary Welsh prince who in Welsh folklore sailed to the New World three hundred years before Christopher Columbus. Maddox means “fortunate.”