What are fairweather clouds?

Fair weather cumulus have the appearance of floating cotton and have a lifetime of 5-40 minutes. Fair weather cumulus are fueled by buoyant bubbles of air, or thermals, that rise upward from the earth's surface. As they rise, the water vapor within cools and condenses forming cloud droplets.