Why did they call new york city the big apple?

New York got the nickname "The Big Apple" in the 1920s in reference to the prizes (or "big apples") rewarded at the many racing courses in and around New York City, but wasn't officially adopted as the city's nickname until 1971 as the result of a successful ad campaign intended to attract tourists.