How do you craft a compass?

To make a compass, rub a needle against a magnet 50 times in the same direction to magnetize it. Next, push the needle horizontally through the piece of cork so that it comes out the other side. Place the cork into a bowl of water and watch as the needle aligns itself to point North and South