Why are french bulldogs so expensive?

French Bulldogs are rising in popularity, hitting the number 4 spot on the American Kennel Club rankings. However, because of their small hips, natural breeding is nearly impossible and they require artificial insemination and C-Section in order to produce a litter, which is very costly to do.