Why is laundry detergent blue?

Laundry detergent is blue, due to Optical Brightening Agents, which leave a light blue tint, because blue emits more visible light than white does alone, preventing an appearance of dinginess. This is a concept which dates to at least the mid-1800s, when it was called “bluing”.