What's the difference between gold potatoes and russet potatoes?

Gold potatoes are usually creamier, and used for mashing, stews, or in salads. While Russet potatoes are starchier, and are great as baked potatoes. You may find Gold potatoes are a bit sweeter.

---

Yukon Golds have thinner, pale yellow skin and are medium starch potatoes. Russet potatoes have thicker, brown skins and are high starch. Gold potatoes are more dense and rich with Russet being more fluffy and soft.