Who ran for president in nineteen seventy six?

the Democrat Jimmy Carter won the 1976 presidential election with 50.1% of the vote. the republican Gerald Ford finished with 48% of the votes

---

Gerald Ford, the Republican incumbent, ran against Democrat Jimmy Carter. Other candidates were Roger MacBride, a Libertarian; Eugene McCarthy, independent; Ben Bubar, Prohibition Party; Frank Zeidler, Socialist Party USA; Gus Hall, Communist Party; and Lester Maddox, American Independent Party