When was chocolate born?

Chocolate is not a living thing, so it was never born. Chocolate was discovered 4,000 years ago by the Olmec tribe of Mexico, one of the earliest civilizations in Latin America. The Olmecs drank hot chocolate as a medicine and for their religious rituals.