How do you quickly defrost a turkey?

While it's more labor intensive, it is possible to thaw a turkey at the last minute and still get dinner on the table. Place the turkey in its original wrapper in a large bucket filled with cold water and let it thaw for 30 minutes per pound; a 12-pound bird would therefore take 6 hours.

---

By submerging it in ice water, even a 24-pound bird can be defrosted in just 12 hours (Thermoworks says to count on about 8 hours for a 15-pounder). Check the water's temperature so that it stays about 40 degrees. Monitor it every half hour and if you see the temperature rising add more ice to it.