What is cross-fire trail?

Crossfire Trail is a book by Louis L'Amour and a 2001 movie. The movie starred Tom Selleck and Virginia Madsen. In the story, Rafe Covington, a hardened drifter, makes a promise to a dying friend to care for his Wyoming ranch and his wife, Anne.