How many foods are there in the whole world?

According to the United Nations Food And Agriculture Organization, there are 250,000 to 300,000 species of edible plants, only 150 to 200 are used by humans. Only three - rice, maize and wheat - contribute nearly 60 percent of calories and proteins obtained by humans from plants.